How Do I become a
Healthcare Assistant?

Step 1 – The Necessary Qualification

The Learning Pathway to become a Healthcare Assistant involves obtaining the Level 5 Healthcare Support Major Award – QQI code 5M4336.

This award is obtained by completing 8 modules within the Healthcare Curriculum.

Four modules are mandatory, while three are elective to obtain this QQI Major Award.

However, to work within the HSE there are 8 Mandatory modules required.

Step 2 – Choose your Modules

Choose the 8 modules you are going to complete in accordance with your current career or chosen profession as per the below structure. For further information on each of these modules please click on the relevant tile on the website, or on the links below.




Level 5 5N0690



Step 3 – Book your Modules

You can choose to book all 8 modules together:

Click on the ‘Healthcare Support Major Award QQI L5’ link below. The benefit of this option is that you will receive a discounted rate for booking all 8 modules together.

Alternatively, you can choose to book each module individually:

Click on the relevant module tile on the website, or on the links above and book your first module.

Different learning delivery options are also detailed in this section.

Healthcare Support Major Award

Are you interested in furthering your career?

Why not call to discuss our courses now?